How to Manage Group Permissions in RFMS NEXT

 

  Note: With 1.7 all existing groups have been removed. New groups with permissions will need to be created and users assigned to groups in order for users to have access to NEXT will need to be done by an administrator.  The administrator should not be added to a group as they have full access by default.

The groups screen is where you can manage access permissions for defined rolls within RFMS.

Groups Screen

The main screen shows all created user rolls, known as a group. When a group is selected there are multiple options available.

groups main screen.png

Options

Add Create a new group.
View View the permissions set for this group. A new view will open giving the option to edit permissions or delete the group.
Delete Delete the selected group. All associated users will be removed from the group and the user roll will be deleted.
Show Associated Users List all users that are assigned this user roll and its permissions.

Add a New Group

Group Name

Begin by giving the group a name. The best practice is to label the group based on the roll of the user or users that will be assigned to this group.

add group name.png

Defining Permissions

Permissions are displayed in a an accordion dropdown menu. They are organized by module, area within the module, and functions within that area.

Permission options are limited to Allow and Restrict. If the top level permission is set to Allow, then all subsequent permissions are set to allow. The same is true if Restrict is selected.

permission hierarchy.png

Granularity of permission is allowed by selectively setting certain area functions to be restricted.

permission granularity.png

Options

Save Save the group and the changes made to it.
Save & Add New Save the group and begin the process of adding another.
Cancel Cancel all edits made on this screen and close it.

View or Edit an Existing Group

While viewing a group you can browse the permissions that have been set for it.

Options

Edit Edit the group name and/or permissions.
Delete Permanently delete the group. A dialog will pop up to ask if you are sure.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.